E-wallet payments are now accepted by all government departments

A new Treasury circular has revealed that all federal ministries and their departments will now accept e-wallet payments for services. All relevant departments will need to enable the e-wallet method for over-the-counter and online portal transactions, the latter of which can be implemented through a mobile app or website.

Service charges for payments will be levied by the government, with the exception of transactions related to the Inland Revenue Board, customs and non-tax revenue such as loan repayments. These elements will be invoiced to the payer.

[Photo: DuitNow/YouTube]

The notice also states that the service provider is not allowed to charge more than 0.5% of the transaction value for service fees and no other fees may be imposed. In addition, only companies approved by Bank Negara can be appointed for this implementation of electronic wallet payments.

Regarding refunds, the circular stated that any complaints about disputed or unauthorized transactions must be resolved within 14 working days. No particular company has been mentioned for use, but that shouldn’t matter much, as most consumer e-wallets in Malaysia support the nationwide DuitNow QR code, which enables cross-platform payments.

(Source: Treasury)

Ashley C. Reynolds