The Prime Minister announces the creation of a new task force to improve government services to Canadians

Canadians deserve efficient, high-quality government services that are accessible, timely and make their lives easier. The delays in processing immigration and passport applications are unacceptable and the Government of Canada is working urgently to resolve them as soon as possible.

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau today announced the creation of a new task force to improve government services, with a focus on reducing wait times for Canadians. The task force, a committee of Cabinet ministers, will review service delivery, identify gaps and areas for improvement, and make recommendations to ensure that Canadians from coast to coast receive the highest quality of service.

As we recover from the pandemic and increasingly adapt to a rapidly changing world where more and more Canadians are once again relying on government services, they have experienced delivery delays that are far from be acceptable. The task force will take action to improve the processing of passports and immigration applications by identifying priority areas for action and outlining short- and long-term solutions, with a focus on reducing processing times. waiting, eliminating backlogs and improving the overall quality of services. available to Canadians. As labor shortages continue to cause delays in air travel around the world, the task force will also monitor the situation at Canadian airports.

The Government of Canada is working hard to improve the delivery of the services that Canadians rely on every day.


“We know that service delays, especially in recent months, are unacceptable. We will continue to do everything we can to improve the delivery of these services in an efficient and timely manner, and this new task force will help guide the government’s work to better meet the changing needs of Canadians and continue to provide them with the services high quality they need and deserve.

The Rt. Hon. Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada

Fast facts

  • Members of the Service to Canadians Working Group are:
    • The deputy. Marci Ien, Minister for Women, Gender Equality and Youth (co-chair)
    • The deputy. Marc Miller, Minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations (co-chair)
    • The deputy. Randy Boissonnault, Minister of Tourism and Associate Minister of Finance
    • The deputy. Mona Fortier, President of the Treasury Board
    • The deputy. Ahmed Hussen, Minister of Housing and Diversity and Inclusion
    • The deputy. Gudie Hutchings, Minister of Rural Economic Development
    • The deputy. Dominic LeBlanc, Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs, Infrastructure and Communities
    • The deputy. Diane Lebouthillier, Minister of National Revenue
    • The deputy. Mary Ng, Minister of International Trade, Export Promotion, Small Business and Economic Development
    • The deputy. Harjit S. Sajjan, Minister of International Development and Minister responsible for the Pacific Economic Development Agency of Canada
  • Ministers responsible for relevant departments, including the Minister of Families, Children and Social Development, the Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship and the Minister of Transportation, will be ex-officio members of the working group.
  • Other Cabinet members may be invited to participate in Task Force meetings to provide advice and recommendations on matters related to their respective portfolios.

Ashley C. Reynolds